Communities

Writing
Writing
Codidact Meta
Codidact Meta
The Great Outdoors
The Great Outdoors
Photography & Video
Photography & Video
Scientific Speculation
Scientific Speculation
Cooking
Cooking
Electrical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Judaism
Judaism
Languages & Linguistics
Languages & Linguistics
Software Development
Software Development
Mathematics
Mathematics
Christianity
Christianity
Code Golf
Code Golf
Music
Music
Physics
Physics
Linux Systems
Linux Systems
Power Users
Power Users
Tabletop RPGs
Tabletop RPGs
Community Proposals
Community Proposals
tag:snake search within a tag
answers:0 unanswered questions
user:xxxx search by author id
score:0.5 posts with 0.5+ score
"snake oil" exact phrase
votes:4 posts with 4+ votes
created:<1w created < 1 week ago
post_type:xxxx type of post
Search help
Notifications
Mark all as read See all your notifications »
Q&A

Welcome to Codidact Meta!

Codidact Meta is the "town hall" (meta-discussion site) for the Codidact community network and the Codidact software. Whether you have bug reports or feature requests, support questions or rule discussions that touch the whole network – this is the site for you.

Comments on Comment from a deleted user has the username link to the thread

Post

Comment from a deleted user has the username link to the thread

+3
−0

In a comment, the username of the comment author is a link to that user's user page. However, if the user has been deleted then the link is instead to the thread containing that comment. Is this intentional?

I don't know if this is only for users who cannot see deleted users, or whether users who can see deleted users also see this link to the thread instead of to the user. For users who cannot see deleted users, would it be better to simply have no link when there is nowhere useful to link to?

For example, this thread by a deleted user shows this behaviour (content blurred because it is spam):

Comment with the username "deleted user" in blue as a link even though I cannot see deleted users

Clicking on "deleted user" comes back to the same page (with a slightly different URL because it is a link to the thread rather than the specific comment: https://meta.codidact.com/comments/thread/11164#).

What should be the behaviour when a comment by a deleted user is viewed by:

  • A user who can see deleted users.
  • A user who cannot see deleted users.
History

2 comment threads

related bug report (1 comment)
Somewhat intentional (4 comments)
Somewhat intentional
Oleg Valter‭ wrote 11 months ago · edited 11 months ago

Yes, the link behaves as expected - however, we should do better than just render an anchor (tbh, I do not see any issue with rendering a proper link that 404s for users without access), agreed.

trichoplax‭ wrote 11 months ago

I don't yet have a preference between a link that 404s for users without access and omitting the link for such users. I'm hoping there will be some discussion that might uncover some advantages and disadvantages.

The only thing that comes to mind is that the link contains a unique id, so even if it 404s, would that still allow someone to identify which comments were made by the same deleted user? Even if so, would that be a problem? I don't know if there's a reason to avoid that.

Oleg Valter‭ wrote 11 months ago · edited 11 months ago

Oh yeah, good thought - technically, it will be possible as long as the comments / posts are up, yes, that's a lapse in judgment on my part. We can easily make them non-links, yeah, there's a dedicated helper for that, after all

Mr. Beedell, Roke Julian Lockhart (RJLB)‭ wrote 11 months ago · edited 11 months ago

The only thing that comes to mind is that the link contains a unique id, so even if it 404s, would that still allow someone to identify which comments were made by the same deleted user?

trichoplax‭ and Oleg Valter‭, I don't consider that to be undesirable. If anyone has already interacted with that user, they'll retain its user identifier regardless, in their browser's history.

Additionally, when a user account is deleted, I doubt that anyone expects that correlating that user account to its actions would be removed. Rather, merely the personal account data would be removed.