Communities

Writing
Writing
Codidact Meta
Codidact Meta
The Great Outdoors
The Great Outdoors
Photography & Video
Photography & Video
Scientific Speculation
Scientific Speculation
Cooking
Cooking
Electrical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Judaism
Judaism
Languages & Linguistics
Languages & Linguistics
Software Development
Software Development
Mathematics
Mathematics
Christianity
Christianity
Code Golf
Code Golf
Music
Music
Physics
Physics

Dashboard
Notifications
Mark all as read
Q&A

Welcome to Codidact Meta!

Codidact Meta is the meta-discussion site for the Codidact community network and the Codidact software. Whether you have bug reports or feature requests, support questions or rule discussions that touch the whole network – this is the site for you.

Cancelation prompt is unintuitive

+11
−0

After hitting the "Cancel" button when writing or editing a post, a prompt shows up that says

Any unsaved changes will be lost. Are you sure?

[Okay] [Cancel]

Hitting [Okay] will kick you out of the editor (as expected).

However, hitting [Cancel] will also kick you out of the editor, and will erase your save data.

While the second behavior is actually pretty useful[1], it isn't exactly intuitive – I would expect the Cancel on the prompt to mean "I didn't intend to click the Cancel button, let me continue editing."

If possible, I suggest using a three-button prompt instead, such as

Would you like to keep your saved draft?

[Keep draft] [Discard draft] [Continue editing]

This would make the choices much clearer from a user standpoint.


  1. Probably even intended, given the status-completed tag there ↩︎

Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.
Why should this post be closed?

0 comments

0 answers

Sign up to answer this question »