Communities

Writing
Writing
Codidact Meta
Codidact Meta
The Great Outdoors
The Great Outdoors
Photography & Video
Photography & Video
Scientific Speculation
Scientific Speculation
Cooking
Cooking
Electrical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Judaism
Judaism
Languages & Linguistics
Languages & Linguistics
Software Development
Software Development
Mathematics
Mathematics
Christianity
Christianity
Code Golf
Code Golf
Music
Music
Physics
Physics
Linux Systems
Linux Systems
Power Users
Power Users
Tabletop RPGs
Tabletop RPGs
Community Proposals
Community Proposals
tag:snake search within a tag
answers:0 unanswered questions
user:xxxx search by author id
score:0.5 posts with 0.5+ score
"snake oil" exact phrase
votes:4 posts with 4+ votes
created:<1w created < 1 week ago
post_type:xxxx type of post
Search help
Notifications
Mark all as read See all your notifications »
Q&A

Welcome to Codidact Meta!

Codidact Meta is the "town hall" (meta-discussion site) for the Codidact community network and the Codidact software. Whether you have bug reports or feature requests, support questions or rule discussions that touch the whole network – this is the site for you.

No way to discard draft edit to user profile

+3
−0

When writing or editing a post, a draft is automatically saved and reloaded if you close the page and come back to it later. I find this very helpful (particularly when switching between devices). However, sometimes I change my mind about a saved draft and want to discard it to start a new edit from scratch. There is a "Cancel" button next to the save button for this purpose:

Cancel button to the right of the save button

The problem is that this "Cancel" button is missing when editing my user profile. This means that when I go to the "Edit" tab my previous draft changes are present, with no way to undo them or discard them. I would have to go back and reverse each change by hand before I could start a new edit.

Please could the "Edit" tab of the user profile page have a similar "Cancel" button?

History

0 comment threads

1 answer

+1
−0

There is now a "cancel" button on the profile edit page, which discards changes and returns to the main profile page, analogous to canceling a post.

There is also a "discard draft" button on the editor (everywhere, including posts), for when you want to discard the temporary saves but continue editing:

red trash can to the right of existing save button

Discarding a draft discards the saved version and makes no changes in the editor itself. If you continue editing, you haven't lost anything; if you leave the page, when you return you'll see the original (unedited) content, just as if you had never started the edit.

We had a lot of discussion about how to design this, because while the "save" button is attached to the editor, in reality, when you save (or auto-save) a draft post, it saves other fields too (title, tag, license). The placement of the "save" button on the editor rather than some "container" for all that stuff is a little misleading, but there's really no other place to put it. On your profile, "save" also covers other fields -- user name, external links, and Discord. For both posts and your profile, "save" and "discard" affect all of these fields, not just the editor textbox.

Note: There is a single saved draft, not a stack. If you make some changes, use the "save" button, make some more changes, and use the "discard" button, it does not restore you to that first save-point: it discards everything. If you're working on something really complicated that might take a few tries to get right (for example, a complex MathJax equation), consider making a durable copy of your own too, just in case.

History

0 comment threads

Sign up to answer this question »