Welcome to Codidact Meta!
Codidact Meta is the "town hall" (meta-discussion site) for the Codidact community network and the Codidact software. Whether you have bug reports or feature requests, support questions or rule discussions that touch the whole network – this is the site for you.
No way to discard draft edit to user profile
When writing or editing a post, a draft is automatically saved and reloaded if you close the page and come back to it later. I find this very helpful (particularly when switching between devices). However, sometimes I change my mind about a saved draft and want to discard it to start a new edit from scratch. There is a "Cancel" button next to the save button for this purpose:
The problem is that this "Cancel" button is missing when editing my user profile. This means that when I go to the "Edit" tab my previous draft changes are present, with no way to undo them or discard them. I would have to go back and reverse each change by hand before I could start a new edit.
Please could the "Edit" tab of the user profile page have a similar "Cancel" button?
1 answer
There is now a "cancel" button on the profile edit page, which discards changes and returns to the main profile page, analogous to canceling a post.
There is also a "discard draft" button on the editor (everywhere, including posts), for when you want to discard the temporary saves but continue editing:
Discarding a draft discards the saved version and makes no changes in the editor itself. If you continue editing, you haven't lost anything; if you leave the page, when you return you'll see the original (unedited) content, just as if you had never started the edit.
We had a lot of discussion about how to design this, because while the "save" button is attached to the editor, in reality, when you save (or auto-save) a draft post, it saves other fields too (title, tag, license). The placement of the "save" button on the editor rather than some "container" for all that stuff is a little misleading, but there's really no other place to put it. On your profile, "save" also covers other fields -- user name, external links, and Discord. For both posts and your profile, "save" and "discard" affect all of these fields, not just the editor textbox.
Note: There is a single saved draft, not a stack. If you make some changes, use the "save" button, make some more changes, and use the "discard" button, it does not restore you to that first save-point: it discards everything. If you're working on something really complicated that might take a few tries to get right (for example, a complex MathJax equation), consider making a durable copy of your own too, just in case.

0 comment threads