Post action links that cannot be used should be hidden
When I'm signed in, I see a set of post action links such as the following (this is from a question):
Permalink | History | Suggest edit | Close | Delete | Flag
The "Suggest edit" changes to "Edit" if I am able to edit immediately.
However, when I'm not signed in, the corresponding set of links is:
Permalink | History | Close | Delete | Flag
I'm actually afraid to try them out, but as a user that's not signed in, I really don't think I should be able to close or delete a question, and one can argue whether or not I should be able to flag it.
All this to suggest that each action link should only be shown if I have sufficient privileges to use it on the post in question. Absent other changes to the post in question in the interim, I shouldn't, as a user, see an action link that ultimately results in being told some variation of "permission denied". That's just bad UX.
In the particular case of questions visited by a user who is not signed in, I suspect that the set of action links shown should be permalink and history; possibly also flag (if flagging as a not-signed-in user is allowed, which I do not intend for this Q&A to discuss). Certainly not close and delete.
To be honest, I'm not sure if this is a bug or a feature-request.